Cheruiyot wins Boston Marathon.

Monday, 21 April 2008
Posted by Neugier

"Cheruiyot ran away from the pack to finish in a blistering 2 hours, 7 minutes, 46 seconds. He ... became the fourth man to win the world's oldest annual marathon four times."

Established in 1887, the Boston Athletic Association is a non-profit organization with a mission of managing athletic events and promoting a healthy lifestyle through sports, especially running.

Ten years after it was established, the B.A.A. held the 24.5-mile B.A.A. Road Race to conclude the B.A.A. Games, a springtime athletic competition. The Boston Marathon, as the race would later become known, was held on April 19, 1897 with a starting field of 15 runners. Ten participants finished the inaugural run, which began in Ashland, Mass., and the race to Boston has been held in every subsequent year. In addition to its indisputable position as the world's oldest annual marathon, "Boston" is widely regarded as one of the world's most prestigious road races. The Boston Marathon is held on Patriots' Day (third Monday in April), beginning at Noon. The centennial Boston Marathon was on April 15, 1996 and drew the world's largest field of finishers (35,868). The 112th Boston Marathon was held today.